Everything You Need to Know About COTIF Cup 2018: Squad, Teams, Schedule

The Indian U-20 football team will be participating in the 2018 COTIF Cup in Spain with the likes of Argentina and Venezuela’s U-20 sides. The Indian team will comprise mostly of stars from the 2017 U-17 World Cup and will get a great deal of exposure by playing against such tough opponents. The tournament will commence on July 28 and end with the final on August 8, 2018.


COTIF Cup (aka Torneo Internacional de Fútbol Sub-20 de L’Alcúdia) is an annual international invitational football competition for youth teams, open to both clubs and national and autonomous teams, held in L’Alcúdia, Valencia since the year 1984.

In the recent years, teams from nations like Spain, Argentina, Brazil, Mexico, South Korea have participated in the tournament, with Spain being the winners in the 2016 edition. Some of the notable players having participated in the tournament include James Rodriguez, Kaka, Jordi Alba, Pedro, Iker Casillas, and Isco.


A total of 10 teams are participating in the men’s competition. 8 of those are national teams while two are Spanish local sides.

Cotif Cup 2018

Top 2 teams from each group will qualify for the semi-finals.


July 29, 2018 – INDIA vs MURCIA
7:00 PM

July 31, 2018 – INDIA vs MAURITANIA
7:00 PM

August 3, 2018 – INDIA vs VENEZUELA
9:15 PM

August 5, 2018 – INDIA vs ARGENTINA
11:15 PM

Semi Finals will be played on August 6 and Final will be held on August 8. FULL SCHEDULE HERE.


Here is India’s 20 member squad for the Cotif Cup 2018. Most of the players (italicized) represented India at the 2017 FIFA U-17 World Cup. Talented striker Aman Chetri who missed out on the World Cup due to injury has also been included.

Goalkeepers: Prabhsukhan Singh Gill, Vishal Dube, Sachin Suresh.

Defenders: Boris Singh, Sahil Panwar, Anwar Ali, Sanjeev Stalin, Jitendra Singh, Ashis Rai, Deepak Tangri, Narendra, Sumit Rathi.

Midfielders: Suresh Singh, Ninthoi Meetei, Amarjit Singh, Abhijit Sarkar, Jeakson Singh, Nongdamba Naorem, Rahul K.P, Harmanpreet Singh, Lalengmawia, Jashandeep Singn

Forwards: Rahim Ali, Aniket Jadhav, Aman Chetri.

Head Coach: Floyd Pinto

About the author

Rohit Singh

I'm an engineer and also a sports lover.

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *